top of page

Violet Gin, don’t mind if I do…


Violet Gin, don’t mind if I do… an experiment.

Violets, such beautiful little punches of deep purple in early spring, can be seen covering sheltered spots across the south downs at the moment.

You can also grow them in your own garden, fabulous in the lawn, creating a carpet of colour at this time of year, so I thought I’d try an experiment.

I’ve candied Violet flowers before (will share a guide when I have a moment), but didn’t have the time for the faff it involved when I had a sudden flush of flowers, so I thought I’d try ‘Violet Gin’.

I make sloe gin every year if I can find the moments, so I’ve followed a similar principle using much less sugar, (there’s no need to balance out the acidity as there is with sloes).

Violets have such a delicate scent, I’ve only

made 200ml, just as an experiment… but wow it looks beautiful… hope it tastes good too, I will let you know.

If you’d like to try it too, you can buy ‘sweet violet’ from most garden centres at the moment. Here’s one I spotted yesterday (at Paradise Park). It’s a perennial and this pot was £3.99 or 3 for £10.

Violets are very tolerant of

most sites, but when growing wild it chooses a sheltered spot in moist free draining soil under and around deciduous plants.

So (as with any plant), echo the plants natural growing conditions as much as possible and you’ll get a thrill every year as it lifts it delicate purple heads from the soil.

And maybe try some Violet Gin...

CCx


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page